JEFFERSON CITY – The Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations reminds the public the state’s minimum wage rate will rise to $10.30 per hour, effective Friday.
Pursuant to Proposition B – which a majority of Missouri voters approved Nov. 6, 2018 – the minimum wage will increase by 85 cents per hour each year through 2023.
Prior to Prop B’s passage, the Republican-dominated General Assembly nullified required wage boosts, including those made by St. Louis and other cities. Because voters decided to bypass the roadblock to increases put in place by the GOP, almost all private businesses across the state are required to pay, at a minimum, the $10.30 hourly rate.
There are exceptions, however. Missouri retail and service businesses with gross annual sales of less than $500,000 do not have to pay the hourly rate. Moreover, Missouri’s minimum wage law does not apply to public employers.
Compensation for tipped employees also must total at least $10.30 per hour. Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least 50% of the minimum wage, plus any amount necessary to bring the employee’s total compensation to a minimum of $10.30 per hour.
The law does not allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than the federal minimum wage rate.